Skip to main content

Reused Elements in JKM LibGuides: Finding Capstones, Dissertations & Theses

This is a safe home for all boxes and pages that appear in several guides, so that the original element is not deleted accidentally and so the element can be updated for every guide with one edit.

Finding Chatham Student Publications

Finding Tutorials, Theses, Dissertations, and Capstones Written by Chatham Students

  • On the library homepage, choose the Student Works tab (in the "SEARCH" box on the upper left side of the screen).
  • You can either search for a specific publication by using the search box, or Browse for a specific type of publication using the "Browse" drop-down menu.

Please note that the library only has those publications that students have submitted to the library. They are only available electronically if the author submitted the work electronically. If there is no PDF link available, it is only available in print and able to be viewed at the JKM library. 

Find Capstones in the JKM Library

Step 1: On the library homepage, go to the Student Works tab.

Step 2: In the Advanced Student Work Catalog Search, choose Capstones from the drop down box.

Step 3: Choose Nursing (DNP).

Step 4: Each capstone record will have a PDF link.  Click on the link to access the capstone.

Note: The library only has those capstones that students have submitted to the library. Capstones are only available electronically if the author submitted the work electronically. If there is no PDF link available for a capstone, it is only available in print and can be viewed at the JKM library. If you have difficulty finding or locating a capstone, please contact Dana Mastroianni.

 

 

FAQs

Q. What if the thesis or dissertation I need isn't available online?

A. You can request theses or dissertations through the library's interlibrary loan service, ILLiad. Please note the lending library may refuse the request.

Q. How do I find theses written by Chatham alumni?

A. All tutorials, theses, dissertations, and capstones that have been submitted to the library can be searched via the Catalog by author, title, or department. If the author submitted an electronic copy, the full-text is available as a PDF link. If the print copy is the only version available, click on the "Request to Read in the Library" link. Complete the form and submit it at the Circulation Desk. You will be notified via email when the document is available to view.

Q. I know that another library has the thesis/dissertation that I need. Can I go there to view it?

A. It depends. Libraries have their own policies concerning which individuals may view their dissertations and theses. Before making any travel plans, contact the library that holds the resource to ensure its accessibility.

Finding Theses & Dissertations Online

The following resources are available for faculty and students. Most of the sources are freely available on the web with no subscription required for access.  Depending on specific agreements with authors, some publications may not be immediately accessible.  When noted, access to specific resources is available only to Chatham students and faculty.

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses - [Note: This database is available only to Chatham students, faculty, and staff.]  Access records for dissertations and theses worldwide.  Follow the Internet tab in the results section for documents that are freely available for viewing.

Networked Dissertations & Theses - Search across various subject for electronic theses and dissertations.  Since the NDLTD is international in scope, users may be directed to accept use agreements before downloading documents.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Open - PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

Theses Canada Portal - Both print and electronic theses are available through the portal. Print theses found here can be requested via ILLiad at the Jennie King Mellon library.

OhioLINK ETD Center - A free, online database of Ohio's masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools.  Contains abstracts for all included theses and dissertations, the full text is available if it was submitted.

Australasian Digital Theses Program -  Digital versions of theses produced by postgraduate research students at Australian universities.  Most of the theses are freely available, some may have restrictions placed on them by the author or affiliated institutions.

British Library ETHOS - Electronic Theses Online Service -  Users need to complete a free registration form before searching is enabled.  The database is a repository for both abstracts of print theses and immediately downloadable electronic theses.  Searches can be limited to immediately available results.

DART: Europe E-theses Portal - Gives access to over 139,000 theses from 239 universities throughout Europe.  DART is the European working group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations.

Subject Guide

Dana Mastroianni
Contact:
JKM Library, Office 109
412-365-1602