Skip to main content

IND170: Finding Articles for IND170

Resources for research by students in IND170, Maymester 2016

Welcome to IND170: FY Research in Science

Welcome to a collection of resources selected to assist with research projects in IND170.  

Please explore this page and the subsequent tabs to find helpful books, articles, and publications by students related to BPA, alternatives to BPA, the history of EPA banning, health effects of BPA, and more.   

General Databases

How Do I Find the Full Text?

Find the full text of an article within a library database:

1. In the library database, click on the link that says PDF Full Text, Full Text Finder, or similar.

2. If the library doesn't have the article in print or electronically, you will be directed to request it through ILLiad.

Find the full text of an article for which you have the citation information:

1. Search the Journals+ tab on the library homepage for the journal title to check for print or online access to that journal.

2. If the library does not have access to the journal that you need, you can order individual articles through ILLiad.

Finding Articles in Science & Health Databases

Finding Articles in Business Databases

Finding Statistics

Searching for Articles

Using the library's databases is the most efficient way to find journal articles. Access the databases by using the Databases A-Z list or find the best databases to use by topic with the Guides button. Not sure where to start? Use Discovery to search many databases simultaneously.

Since journal articles usually have a narrow focus, narrowing your search terms to be as specific as possible is a good idea.  If you perform a search and receive too many results, your search terms are probably too broad or you are not using enough terms to retrieve a relevant result list.  Here are a few things to keep in mind when searching for articles:

  1. Use focused search terms, ACL injuries instead of knee injuries.
  2. How search terms are joined determines the number and relevancy of results.
  3. Use databases that are subject specific.
  4. Use the limiters available in the database to focus your search.

Many databases offer the use Boolean operators to join search term together.  While a funny sounding name, Boolean operators are important in how the database interprets your search.  By knowing what they are and how they determine what results you will receive, you will be able to search more efficiently and effectively.

Boolean Operators

  • AND - Use AND when joining non-related terms together, for example heart attack AND women. Using AND tells the database to include all of the search terms in your search string and will usually reduce the number of results retrieved. Note that you do not have to use AND to join two terms in a recognizable phrase, for example, glass ceiling, intensive care,, etc. View the short video below for how to use AND effectively in database searching.

     
  • OR -  Use OR to join terms that are closely related or synonymous, for example adolescents OR teenagers. Using OR tells the database to search for either one or both of your terms and thus will increase your result list.  You will usually use OR in conjuntion with an AND search; for example drug abuse AND teenagers OR adolescents. If you receive too many results, you may be joining too many terms together with OR.  Focus on the main concepts of your topic for a more effective search. View the short video below on how to use OR effectively in database searching.

  • NOT -  Use NOT to exclude a term entirely, for example Miami NOT dolphins.

In addition to using AND, OR, NOT in searching, databases also have Limiters, that can further focus your search. Limiters tell the database to retrieve results according to a certain set of criteria.  Common, useful limiters are full text, peer review, and date range. Depending on the subject specificity of the database, limiters can also determine research interest, publication type, language, geography, and more.  There are a few different ways to employ limiters:

1. Apply limiters to your search at the outset, and edit as needed.  

2. Perform an initial search, view results, then apply limiters. 

Using the first scenario as an example, type your search terms in, then move to larger box below to select your limiters. This particular search will retrieve results on capital punishment that are full text, from peer reviewed journals, and have been published since 2010.

 

Using the second scenario as an example, type in your search terms and click Search. Limiters are available in the left column; once you choose a limiter, your results are automatically updated.  

The limiters of individual databases vary depending on if you are in basic search mode or advanced search mode. Normally you will see more specific limiters if you choose advanced search mode.  

Another way to ensure you will receive relevant results is by using a subject/discipline specific database.  The JKM Library has over 65 databases; some cover almost any topic you can think of and others are focused on one subject area or discipline. If you are searching for articles specific to a subject area for which the library has a database, you'll find the depth and breadth of results better than using a general coverage database.  Use the Guides button on the library homepage to find out which databases are best to search for your subject area. 

Keep in mind that it usually takes more than one search to obtain a well-rounded result list. Remember the usefulness of concept mapping and thinking about related terms and concepts that can help focus your search. If you need more help with searching, contact the library reference desk through phone, email or chat (way to link just to the chat box with all of the info?)

Loading