Skip to main content

Circulation Desk

Room Reservations

  • The library houses individual study rooms that can be checked out on a first come, first serve basis.
  • Group study rooms can be reserved for classes and meetings.
  • For information on room specs and how to reserve them, click on the corresponding tabs.

​Reservations:

Chatham faculty, students, staff, and those with Alumni or Special Borrowers cards are encouraged to make a reservation one of the following ways: 

  • ONLINE! See the Group Study Rooms and/or McGuire Room pages.
  • In person at the Circulation Desk
  • ​By phone: 412-365-1245
  • By email: circdesk@chatham.edu & include:
    1. first and last name,
    2. email you check regularly (preferably Chatham email),
    3. date of reservation,
    4. beginning and end time of reservation,
    5. estimate  of how many people in your group, and
    6. room preference, if any

Day of Reservation:

  • Check ONLINE! See the Group Study Rooms and/or McGuire Room pages.
  • Stop by the Circulation Desk to find out room availability and to check out the key
  • You MUST check out the key for your room within the first hour of your reservation at the Circulation Desk. If you do not pick up the key (or notify us of your late arrival) within the first hour, you will lose your reservation – no exceptions! This policy will now open up rooms for other patrons as opposed to holding rooms for no-shows.

    • Running late or need to cancel your reservation? Just reach out to us, and we’ll accommodate your reservation!

      • Text the Reference Desk at 724-919-4645

      • Call the Circulation Desk at 412-365-1245\

Need a Snack?

Beverages and snacks are permitted in study rooms. Clean up after yourself! Recycle and dispose of all waste properly. Report any spills as soon as possible to the Circulation Desk.

Accountability:

If a key is not returned or lost, the person to which the key is checked out is responsible for a $125.00 key replacement fee. 

Lobby, Vestibule, & Porch

The Vesibule is a great place to have a bake sale, set up a donation box, juggle, or display art! To ensure it's available, make a reservation.

The Lobby is a great place for a larger event, like Edible Books. Don't forget to make a reservation!

The Porch is a great space to reserve for outdoor events. Since it's covered, it stays shaded on a sunny day and dry on a rainy one.

Need to hang something up for your display? Stop by the Circulation Desk and ask for "the blue tape." 

  • Never, ever use Scotch tape.
  • Never, ever, ever tape anything to the marble. Ever.

​Reservations:

Chatham faculty, students, staff, and those with Alumni or Special Borrowers cards are encouraged to make a reservation: 

  • In person at the Circulation Desk
  • ​By phone: 412-365-1245
  • By email: circdesk@chatham.edu & include:
    1. first and last name,
    2. email you check regularly (preferably Chatham email),
    3. date of reservation,
    4. beginning and end time of reservation,
    5. estimate  of how many people in your group, and
    6. room preference, if any

Day of Reservation:

  • Stop by the Circulation Desk to find out space availability.

No Reservation?

  • If no one is using the space, it may be freely used by any library patrons 
  • You will need to leave if someone with a reservation arrives
  • Access is on a first-come, first-serve basis
  • Stop by the Circulation Desk to find out space availability 

Need a Snack?

Beverages and snacks are permitted. Clean up after yourself! Recycle and dispose of all waste properly. Report any spills as soon as possible to the Circulation Desk.

Accountability:

Clean up after yourself! The person who makes the reservation is responsible for the timely removal of all display and event items. 

Eleven individual locked study rooms are available for use by members of the Chatham University community.

  • Access to study carrels is on a first-come, first-served basis only.
  • All rooms are equipped with network connections and electrical outlets.
  • Drinks and snacks are allowed. Clean up after yourself! Report any spills to the Circulation Desk.

Check out a key for an individual study room at the Circulation Desk.

  • A valid Chatham ID must be presented in order to check out a key.
  • Keys are checked out for 4 hours with the option of one renewal for an additional 4 hours if no one is waiting.
  • If the key is lost, the patron will be responsible for a $125.00 key replacement fee.

Need a break? Don't forget your Chatham ID! Leave your room key with us at the Circulation Desk if you  leave the Library during the time you're using a room. You'll need to show us your Chatham ID in order to get the key back.

 

Room Housing the Brown Collection

Room Access Policy

The room housing the Brown Collection includes meeting space for parties of thirteen or less and is appropriate for seminar classes and small faculty gatherings. Use of the room is subject to the following conditions:

  • The room must be reserved in advance through the Reference Desk (412-365-1670).
  • Only faculty or staff (no students) may reserve the room.
  • The individual reserving the room takes full responsibility for the safety of the Brown Collection materials and will sign a document affirming this.
  • The individual reserving the room must sign in at the Reference Desk. The librarian on duty there will open the room at this time.
  • Class or meeting attendees must respect the Brown Collection and follow all material care directives detailed in the collection access policy.  This includes the prohibition on food, drinks, and writing implements other than pencils.
  • The Library reserves the right to search bags leaving the room. 

Contact Classroom Reservations at classroom@chatham.edu to find out availability and reserve this room.

For replacement dry erase markers contact bcottington@chatham.edu

 

Contact Classroom Reservations at classroom@chatham.edu to find out availability and reserve this room.

For replacement dry erase markers contact bcottington@chatham.edu

 

Contact Classroom Reservations at classroom@chatham.edu to find out availability and reserve this room.

As of January 2017, for availability and reservations, please contact instructionalservices@chatham.edu

 

WHEELED WHITE BOARDS IN ROOM 103

The wheeled white boards in Room 103 are not to leave this space.

For specific requests about using the boards in other locations within the library, please email instructionalservices@chatham.edu.

NOTE: The Library does not provide dry erase markers for this space. 

 

The 24X7 lab and study area in the JKM Library has been extended to include Room 103, LCC1 and the large lab. This provides a variety of open tables and computer access as well as group study and individual spaces. 

In addition, there have been many requests for more study and lab space so this area will continue to be open during the fall and spring semesters as well as Maymester.  During the summer there will be access to the original 24X7 space, Room 103 and LCC1 only.

Now I’m sure many of you are thinking “Great! But where’s the bathroom?”  For your comfort and convenience, the Eddy Theater Lobby will be open. The Eddy doors nearest the Library will remain unlocked as well as the wheelchair accessible entrance on the other side of the building. We hope you will find these changes useful.

Need help setting up your laptop for a presentation? Call the IT Helpdesk at 412-365-1112.

Need to request equipment? Keep reading for instructions from Chatham ITS on how to request equipment:

To ensure that your request is placed in a timely manner, use the Digital Equipment Request form. This form can be found on my.chatham.edu after logging in and clicking on Help Desk at the top of the page. Using this form organizes all equipment that will be needed, and is sent directly to those involved in preparing your event.

As a reminder, equipment can only be requested by a Chatham Staff or Faculty member. Students are not able to reserve equipment directly and therefore won’t be able to see the form on my.chatham. Any student needs have to be submitted by a Staff or Faculty member using the Digital Equipment Request form. 

If you need more information please refer to our Policies and Procedures document found here:

https://my.chatham.edu/documents/documentcenter/policies%20and%20procedures%20FINAL_4-6-15.pdf 

 

Loading