Skip to main content

Counseling Psychology: Find Tests & Surveys

How to Use this Guide

Boxes in the left column: Information on tracking down the full-text of a test to give to a specific population.

Boxes in the right column: Resources to use to find information about a test, but not the full-text of the test.

Resources for Locating Full-Text Tests

Books in the JKM Collection containing tests

  1. Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook (2013, 2 volumes) - Ref 150.287 C79m4 (423+ tests)
  2. Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures - Ref 306.7072 H243f (215+ tests)
  3. Exacting beauty : theory, assessment, and treatment of body image disturbance (1999) - Stacks 616.852 E933 (36 tests)
  4. Handbook of research design and social measurement (2002) - Stacks 302.072 M64h6
  5. Measuring health : a guide to rating scales and questionnaires (1996) - Stacks 614.42 M13m2 (76 tests)
  6. Positive Psychological Assessment (2003) - Stacks 150.198 P674L (19 tests)

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences (a website you can search to find books containing the actual test you want)

  1. Search for tests using the UT Arlington's website.
  2. In the search box type TMdb and then your keyword(s). For example:  TMdb and life satisfaction.
  3. Use the Online Catalog or E-ZBorrow to find the book that the test is in.

SDSU Test Finder (a website you can search to find books or articles containing the actual test you want)

  1. For tests available in a book, use the Online Catalog or E-ZBorrow to obtain a copy of the book.
  2. For tests available in a journal article, use Journals A to Z to find out if the JKM Library has access to the journal the article appears in. If we do not have access to it, use ILLiad to order it.

ETS Find a Test database

  1. Click on "Search the Test Link database"
  2. Type in the name of the test. To search by keyword, change the TitleSearch drop down menu to "All Fields".
  3. Look at the Availability Source. That will tell you where to find the test. Sometimes this will be a company that sells the test. Sometimes you will be given the information fora book or article that contains the test.

Tips for Finding Full-Text Tests in JKM Library Databases

CINAHL - Cummulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature

  1. Type in your search term in the search box.
  2. Scroll down and in the "Publication Type" menu, select "Questionnaire/Scale" and "Research Instrument" (hold down the "Ctrl" key to select both).
  3. Click "Search".
  4. The articles you find may contain the actual tests.  If you only select Research Instrument, you will get the actual test if the full text is available.  However for many of the "Questionnaire/Scale" articles, the tests are also included.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

  1. Click on "Advanced Search" under the search box.
  2. Type in your search term.
  3. Scroll down and in the "Publication Type" menu, select "Tests/Questionnaires".
  4. Click "Search".
  5. The articles you find may contain the actual tests

Mental Measurements Yearbook

In order to find a test with enough information to do a thorough analysis, it is best to pick one that is reviewed in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). See the box below for more information about the MMY and how to search it.

Resources for Finding Information about Tests

Books Containing Test Information and Reviews (but not the actual test!)

Mental Measurements Yearbooks (MMY) - REf 371.26 M529m

  • Each volume reviews different tests that are currently available in print.
  • Includes:
    • (1) Basic test information such as test name, test purpose, population for which the test is intended, price, author, and time needed to administer the test.
    • (2) Reviews of the tests, including test description, development, technical information (usually validity & reliability), and commentary
  • Does not contain the test itself

    For an easy way to search the MMY use the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements website

  1. Enter your keyword in the Title box (also try searching the Purpose and Scores boxes separately)
  2. Click Search.
  3. It will look like you need to pay for the information, but you don't. Just click on the name of the test you want.
  4. On the next page, look at the "Reviewed In" section to see which MMY your test appears in.

Other Books Containing Reviews of Tests


Books Containing Test Information (but not reviews or the actual test!)

Tests - Ref 150 T286s

  • Provides information on thousands of tests used in psychology, education, and business.
  • Lists the author, purpose, description, format, cost, and more for each test but does not attempt to review or evaluate the tests.
  • Does not contain the test itself

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques - Ref 306.85 H26

  • Contains information on 976 tests dealing with marital and family interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, roles and power, and adjustment
  • Does not contain the test itself

Tests in Print - Ref 371.26 B93t

  • Contains basic information about all tests that are currently commercially available
  • Does not contain the test itself

Using PsycINFO to Find Information about Tests

Searching PsycINFO for the name of your test will give you an idea of how other researchers have used it - with which populations, for what purposes, in what way they interpreted the results, etc.

Find articles discussing the reliability or validity of your test by seaching for the test name along with "reliability or validity". For example:

Beck Depression Inventory AND (reliability or validity)

PsycTESTS