Skip to main content

Student Publication Submission Procedures & Policies

Click the corresponding tabs for instructions on how to submit your tutorial, thesis, or other publication to the JKM Library!

Collection and Access Policies for Student Publications [PDF]

Undergraduate student publications, theses, capstones, and dissertations written to satisfy degree requirements are the property of the University. The Library and University Archives are obligated and mandated to collect, preserve, and provide access to these works as a record of Chatham’s degree-granting programs and as evidence of the work conducted in fulfillment of Chatham’s educational mission. As cumulative research documenting the growth of a university department, student publications additionally provide evidence of the growth and development of the University as a whole. To that end, the following policies are put in place to ensure the preservation of our students’ works and the Library’s fulfillment of its mission.

Unless otherwise noted, intellectual property rights in student publications are retained by the author of the work.

Undergraduate Student Publications

Preservation

The library collects one print and one electronic copy of each publication, accompanied by a completed Undergraduate Student Publication Release Form. Print copies are stored in the University Archives and preserved in accordance with strategies applied to all the University Archives collections. Electronic versions and submission forms are managed through the use of modern digital collection management tools, such as institutional repository software, to ensure long-term digital preservation, managed remote access, and digital collections security.

Access

Print undergraduate student publications do not circulate nor are they eligible for interlibrary loan. They may only be viewed in the JKM Library by patrons with a valid Chatham ID or those with written permission of the author. A Petition for Student Publication Embargo form allows students to request to have their publication embargoed for six years, if approved. Students are able to request an additional six year embargo by submitting the Petition for Student Publication Embargo form a second time. Barring embargo, all publications have a record in the Library's online catalog.

Electronic versions are accessible only to those with a current Chatham login. Exceptions may be made for former students who are seeking a copy of their publication.

Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Capstones

Preservation

The library collects all DNP capstones in electronic format only, along with a Capstone Release Form. These electronic versions and submission forms are managed through the use of modern digital collection management tools, such as institutional repository software, to ensure long-term digital preservation, managed remote access and digital collections security.

Access

Electronic versions are publicly available via the Library's online catalog. A Petition for Student Publication Embargo form allows students to request to have their capstone embargoed for six years, if approved. Students are able to request an additional six year embargo by submitting the Petition for Student Publication Embargo form a second time. Barring embargo, all capstones have a record in the Library's online catalog.

Graduate Theses, Capstones (non-DNP), and Dissertations

Preservation

The Library collects all theses, capstones, and dissertations in both print and electronic, as well as any other format deemed appropriate by advising faculty and/or academic department. The publication is given to the Library along with the Thesis/Capstone/Dissertation Release Form. Print copies of student publications are stored in the University Archives and subject to the preservation program in place in that area.

Electronic versions and submission forms are managed through the use of modern digital collection management tools, such as institutional repository software, to ensure long-term digital preservation, managed remote access, and digital collections security.

Access

Print theses, capstones, and dissertations are not eligible for interlibrary loan and do not circulate. They may only be viewed in the Library. A Petition for Student Publication Embargo form allows students to request to have their publication embargoed for six years, if approved. Students are able to request an additional six year embargo by submitting the Petition for Student Publication Embargo form a second time. Barring embargo, all student publications have a record in the Library's online catalog.

Electronic versions are publicly available via the Library's online catalog.